1. Skip to content

Smeeton Westerby Parish Council

Serving the people of Smeeton Westerby

Clerk: Frances Webster
6 Paget Street, Kibworth
Beauchamp, Leicester LE8 0HW

Tel: 07527189669

Welcome to Smeeton Westerby Parish Council

If you would like to have one of your photos of our village featured on this page please email to contact@smeetonwesterbypc.org.uk

The attractive and historic village of Smeeton Westerby was originally two separate settlements within the ancient parish of Kibworth. The village became a separate parish in the 19th century and is situated half a mile south of Kibworth Beauchamp.

There is a Heritage Trail (click here) which provides an informative guide to the history of the village

Smeeton Westerby Parish Council provides YOUR local services. We endeavour to make Smeeton Westerby a better place to live, work and visit. Our website includes a wealth of information about how we conduct business and what we do. Find local groups and businesses in our community directory. Use the search or browse the site to find whatever you are looking for. If you can't find what you want or would like to recommend any improvements to our website then please contact us.

Parish Council Contacts

All enquiries to the Parish Council should be via the Clerk unless you have a specific need to contact an individual Councillor.

The Clerk works part -time. If no answer, please leave a message and you will be called back as soon as possible.

Please note that all contact with the council becomes part of the official record.

Latest News

Vehicle Activated Sign

Councillors and volunteers of Smeeton Westerby have now installed a new Vehicle Activated Sign for use in the village. The sign is a traffic calming initiative purchased in conjunction with Fleckney Parish Council in an effort to encourage drivers to reduce their speed when driving through the village. The Vehicle Activated Sign will be is use throughout October and early November.

Wed, 12 Oct 2016 09:06 by Frances Webster

Council welcomes new Councillors

At the August meeting of the Parish Council, two new Councillors were co-opted, Cllr David Brierley and Cllr. Richard Clarke. This beings the total number of Parish Councillors to 5.

Fri, 19 Aug 2016 09:27 by Frances Webster

New Chair

New Chair

At the May meeting of Smeeton Westerby Parish Council, Councillors said goodbye to the Chair Cllr. Michael Shaw and Cllr. Howard Taylor. Councillors also thanked the outgoing Clerk, Ann Clarke for her commitment to the Parish Council over the last 16 years: Parish Councillors and the Parishioners of Smeeton Westerby owe Ann a great debt of gratitude for the work she has put in for the welfare of the village. More »

The Council thanked all those leaving for their time and commitment to the Parish Council and wished them well. The Council resolved to appoint Cllr. Michael Vickers as the new Chair and welcomed the new Clerk, Frances Webster. » Less

Fri, 19 Aug 2016 09:24 by Frances Webster